77° F
77° F
San Angelo
71° F
  • 2 brothers die 5 days after sister's death in pool accident

    Published On: Jun 29 2015 04:08:31 PM CDT   Updated On: Jun 29 2015 04:29:07 PM CDT

    IRVING, Texas (AP) -

    Two brothers, ages 9 and 11, have died five days after a pool accident at a suburban Dallas apartment complex that also left their 10-year-old sister dead.

    A statement from the Irving Police Department says 9-year-old Treshawn Smith and 11-year-old Anthony Smith died Sunday night after five days on life support at Children's Medical Center of Dallas.

    The 10-year-old sister August Smith died hours after the Wednesday afternoon incident.

    Irving police say the children's mother summoned help Wednesday afternoon when she noticed her daughter and her sons under water at their apartment complex. Police say the mother, who can't swim, was at the shallow end of the pool with two younger children, ages 3 and 6, when she realized she no longer heard the older children.

  • Taylor County to issue same-sex marriage licenses Tuesday

    Published On: Jun 29 2015 12:03:17 PM CDT   Updated On: Jun 30 2015 08:00:14 AM CDT
    ABILENE, Texas -

    Taylor County Clerk Larry Bevill said the county will begin issuing same-sex marriage licenses to applicants Tuesday.

    Bevill said the application forms have been replaced to be gender neutral and the last remaining step is an update to computer software.

    The software update is expected to be completed Tuesday morning, at which point Bevill said the licenses would begin to be issued.

    "We will issue our first marriage license as soon as we get that software upgrade," Bevill said. "That should happen Tuesday morning."

    When asked what prompted the decision to issue the licenses despite opposition from Attorney General Ken Paxton, Bevill said he is an employee of the United States and took an oath to uphold the law. He said he determined that he wished to follow the Supreme Court.

    "It is time for the Taylor County Clerk's office to listen to the Supreme Court, and start issuing same-sex marriage licenses." Bevill said.

    Bevill said that he believed Paxton's statement was political posturing.

    "I read the information coming out of the Attorney General's office and our Governor's office," Bevill said.

    "The more I read it, it became clear to me most of what they were saying was political posturing."

    Jason Hernandez has been with his partner for 6 years, and he is excited for the change.

    "It was actually quite a surprise how quickly Abilene moved forward and said let's go ahead and do this," Hernandez said.

    Marriage licenses are currently available at Haskell, Mitchell, Fisher, Callahan, and Knox Counties.

  • Girl, 13, arrested after videotaped Texas schoolyard fight

    Published On: Jun 29 2015 09:30:10 AM CDT

    ROWLETT, Texas (AP) -

    A 13-year-old Dallas-area girl faces assault and injury to a child charges over a videotaped schoolyard fight with another teen holding a 3-year-old relative.

    Rowlett police on Sunday night arrested the girl, whose name wasn't released because she's a juvenile.

    A witness videotaped the June 19 incident outside Herfurth Elementary School. One girl is seen yanking another from a picnic table. Rowlett police say the 14-year-old was attacked while holding her young cousin.

    Police are trying to determine what sparked the fight, in which the suspect is seeing dragging the victim to some grass as the toddler falls to the ground. Several children nearby appear to surround the girls during the fight.

    Police say the 14-year-old girl and her cousin suffered minor scrapes. The victim's mother contacted police.

  • Multiple injuries, fatalities in I-20 crash in Merkel

    Published On: Jun 30 2015 07:33:12 AM CDT   Updated On: Jun 30 2015 09:08:12 AM CDT
    MERKEL -

    Multiple fatalities and injuries have been reported after an accident off I-20 near exit 269 in Merkel.

    Merkel Police responded to the crash shortly after 5 Tuesday morning. Authorities tell us an 18-wheeler heading west on the highway crossed the median, crashing into the car in the eastbound lanes of I-20.

    Stay tuned to KTXS as we learn more from authorities in this crash.

  • Abilene man robbed, assaulted during Craigslist purchase

    Published On: Jun 29 2015 03:19:48 PM CDT   Updated On: Jun 30 2015 07:59:28 AM CDT
    ABILENE, Texas -

    Police said a Craigslist purchase went bad in a parking lot in the 4500 block of South 1st Street Saturday afternoon.

    The 31-year-old victim said he was there to buy a Playstation 3 but was robbed at gunpoint before being assaulted by three men in a white SUV. The robbers stol $1,250 from the man. 

    “Anytime you don't know who you're dealing with it's best to be cautious,” said Sgt. Lynn Beard, with the Abilene Police Department.

    Police said Craigslist or other online group purchases should always be done during the daytime and in a public place.

    Police said buyers and sellers are welcome to make transactions in the parking lot at the Law Enforcement Center. 

    “The best thing to do is if it doesn't feel right, it's probably not, and there are ways to meet in public places here at the Law Enforcement Center, for example,” Sgt. Beard said.

    “You significantly reduce the chance of being a victim of a crime if you're engaging in the transaction right in front of the police department.”

    The suspects are facing charges of aggravated robbery, a first degree felony.

  • Escaped inmate caught after 22-day manhunt

    Published On: Jun 29 2015 04:39:49 AM CDT

    Police have captured David Sweat in upstate New York, days after his partner was shot dead and 22 days after his escape from a maximum security prison.

  • Bacon named head boys basketball coach at Ballinger

    Published On: Jun 28 2015 11:15:40 PM CDT
  • Craigslist shopper beat up, robbed in Abilene store parking lot

    Published On: Jun 29 2015 06:52:01 PM CDT   Updated On: Jun 29 2015 10:16:24 PM CDT
  • CALF Fest brings fun for kids of all ages

    Published On: Jun 10 2015 08:23:05 AM CDT   Updated On: Jun 10 2015 08:23:16 AM CDT
  • Six Flags flooding picture not of Texas theme park

    Published On: May 26 2015 08:59:48 PM CDT   Updated On: May 26 2015 09:06:00 PM CDT

    On social media people have been posting a picture that alleges flooding is bad at Six Flags Over Texas in Arlington.  However, the photo is of flooding at an Atlanta theme park back in 2009, not Six Flags in Arlington.