70° F
Mostly Cloudy
Mostly Cloudy
68° F
San Angelo
69° F
Mostly Cloudy
Mostly Cloudy

ASC announces men's basketball tournament bracket, HSU seeded second

Published On: Feb 24 2014 10:04:59 PM CST
derrick jefferson hsu basketball

The American Southwest Conference announced on Monday the bracket for the 2014 ASC Men's Basketball Championship Tournament, with Texas-Dallas earning the No. 1 seed after claiming the league regular season title. The 2014 event will be played Friday through Sunday, February 28-March 2, at the UTD Activity Center in Richardson, Texas.
Texas-Dallas (22-3, 20-2 ASC) will host the Championship for the second consecutive season and fourth time overall. The Comets set a team record with 20 conference wins to join a short list as one of just three ASC teams to reach the 20-win mark in league play. Texas-Dallas has played in the last 11 consecutive ASC tournaments.
Hardin-Simmons (17-8, 17-5 ASC) won 11 of its last 12 games to claim the No. 2 seed. The Cowboys make their fourth consecutive league tournament appearance and seventh overall. Mary Hardin-Baylor (17-8, 15-7 ASC) ended its season on a high note with an upset win over No. 17 Texas-Dallas. The Cru has played in two of the last three ASC Championship games and was the NCAA Division III National Runner-Up a year ago. UMHB makes its 11th straight tournament appearance and 14th overall.
Defending ASC tournament champion Concordia Texas (16-9, 13-9 ASC), will defend its title as the No. 4 seed. The Tornados return two all-tournament selections from last year, including tournament MVP Josh Sanchez. Texas-Tyler (14-11, 13-9 ASC) claimed the No. 5 seed. Concordia Texas and Texas-Tyler split their regular season meetings, but Concordia won the tiebreaker to earn the No. 4 seed based on a better record against Sul Ross State.
Louisiana College (11-13, 11-11 ASC) claimed the No. 6 seed and will make its third ASC tournament appearance. Sul Ross State (11-14, 10-12 ASC) enters the tournament as the No. 7 seed and makes its first postseason event since 2010 and seventh overall. East Texas Baptist (11-14, 9-13 ASC) is the No. 8 seed and will make its eighth tournament appearance, including four in the last five seasons.
The tournament will tip off at Noon on Friday, Feb. 28 as No. 3 Mary Hardin-Baylor takes on No. 6 Louisiana College, followed by No. 2 Hardin-Simmons facing No. 7 Sul Ross State at 2:30 p.m. In the evening, No. 4 Concordia Texas will face No. 5 Texas-Tyler at 5:00 p.m. and No. 1 Texas-Dallas will play the late game at 7:30 p.m. against No. 8 East Texas Baptist.
The ASC Championship semifinals will be played on Saturday, March 1. Game five will tip at 1:00 p.m. and game six is scheduled for a 3:30 p.m. start time. The championship game will start at 2:00 p.m. on Sunday, March 2.
Four of the teams in the 2014 ASC Championship have won tournament titles. Texas-Dallas (2005, 2009) and Mary Hardin-Baylor (2008, 2010) has each won two trophies while Concordia Texas (2013) and Sul Ross State (2004) have one each. Six teams have won the championship on their home court with the most recent coming in 2010 when UMHB last hoisted the trophy.
The 2014 ASC Championship Tournament is the 16th postseason event in league history dating back to 1999. The winner of the Championship earns an automatic berth in the NCAA Division III Men's Basketball Championship.

Information for this story provided by ASC Staff.