67° F
66° F
San Angelo
69° F

Moore Gives HSU ASC Title With Overtime Goal

Published On: Nov 10 2013 09:19:06 PM CST
Updated On: Nov 10 2013 11:14:48 PM CST

HSU Mens Soccer Wins Title in Abilene

ABILENE, Texas -- -

Sophomore Colyn Moore rebounded J.P. Lowenthal’s shot and buried it into the net 3:08 into overtime to give the Hardin-Simmons men’s soccer team the American Southwest Conference Championship.

The Cowboys took an early lead in the game when Dillon Parkhill had a bicycle pass to Taylor Jackson who headed the ball into the net. The score remained 1-0 through halftime.

The entire complexion of the game changed at the 54:34 mark when Tanner Coffin was given a red card on a tackle as the last defender on a breakaway. HSU had to play a man down the rest of the way.

“It is tough to go a man down and fight them off as long as we did, we were getting tired but we just battled and fought through it,” said HSU midfielder Taylor Jackson.

The Patriots had several chances with the man advantage but HSU held up until David Lopez-Molinar scored his 13th goal of the season at the 66:08 mark.

HSU fought through and pushed the game to overtime. Both team had a couple of shots in overtime, but the Cowboys scored the gamewinner when Kevin McNeal played a ball into the front of the net to J.P. Lowenthal and he ripped one at Lance Quini and he saved it but the ball went right to Moore and he had an open net and buried it to set off the wild celebration.

“I am so proud of my team,” said HSU head coach Dan Heger. “We fought hard and were resilient and they dug down deep and found a way to win.

The teams each had four shots in the first half, but UT-Tyler went to work with the extra man in the second half and had 11 shots in the second half and two in overtime to outshoot the Cowboys 17-7 and 6-4 on target.

Michael Vargas had four saves in the win for the Cowboys and Quini saved two shots.

HSU won its eighth American Southwest Conference title and its first since 2009. The Cowboys are riding a 16-game unbeaten streak into the NCAA Tournament and are now 11-3-5 on the year. Texas-Tyler is now 10-3-5.

Lowenthal was named the MVP of the tournament and he was joined on the all-tournament team by Coffin, Jackson and defender Dustin Beal from HSU. Molinar-Lopez, Enoch Shipman and Brandon Severyn of Texas-Tyler, Felipe Albuquerque and Phillip Borde of Louisiana College and Michael Darrow and Steven Nicknish of Texas-Dallas were also on the all-tournament team.

Pairings for the NCAA tournament, which HSU won an automatic berth with the win, will be announced on Monday.

Information provided by HSU Athletics.