91° F
90° F
Scattered Clouds
Scattered Clouds
San Angelo
93° F

War Hawks Earn 54 Heartland Academic Honors

Published On: Aug 10 2013 05:23:55 PM CDT   Updated On: Aug 10 2013 05:24:02 PM CDT
mcmurry war hawks logo sports

WACO, Texas -

McMurry University earned a total of 54 honors by its student-athletes on the 2012-13 Heartland Conference Academic All-Conference honor roll. 2012-13 was the War Hawks' first season as a part of the Heartland Conference.

Numerous student-athletes from nine Heartland Conference member institutions were recognized by the league on its Academic All-Conference honor roll. The teams include student-athletes from all sports sponsored by the Heartland Conference.

To be eligible for Heartland All-Academic honors, student-athletes must have lettered during the 2012-2013 academic year, be in at least the second academic year at their institution and carry a cumulative grade-point average (GPA) of 3.0 or better for the Commissioner's Honor Roll or 3.5 or better for the Presidents' Honor Roll.

Of its 54 honors, McM had 23 achieve the Presidents' Honor Roll, with 31 Commissioner's Honor Roll recipients. McM had two individuals – junior Salitza Abrantes (women's tennis/athletic training) and senior M.J. Vickers (volleyball/women's basketball) – honored as two-sport competitors.

"We are very proud of these young women and men on receiving accolades for their commitment to both academic and athletics," McM Director of Athletics Ron Holmes said. "But this type of balance between academic and athletic excellence is exactly why the university made the commitment to NCAA Division II in the first place. We look forward to having even more student-athletes recognized in the future."

Recognized from McMurry University were:

Salitza Abrantes   
Jessica Arnold 
Deen Coleman  
Joel DePorte   
Richard Garcia 
Gregory Koll  
Jeffers Rader 
Jeremey Ruiz 
Spencer Smith 
Ruben Zendejas
Ashton Jones
Jaryn Koenig  
Victoria Salazar       
Katlyn Tarbet
Melissa Vickers
Evan Fletscher
Alfred Perez 
Connor Robinson
D.J. Stennis   
Alyssa Fields  
Spenser Patterson     
Kelly Green   
Leah Morgan  
Garrett Betts
Landon Grimes  
Matt Porter  
Curtis Stanley 
Timothy Thompson  
Jennifer Cole  
Kristen Grant  
Rachel Moore   
Zachary Brewer
Antoine Freitas
Jacob Howdeshell     
James Ness
Olawole Odesanya     
Ryan Prince
Juan Rodriguez-Isacura      
Salitza Abrantes      
Sydney Gonzales
Dana LeMieux   
Chelsea Miller 
Autumn Patterson       
Christopher Breaux
Alex Johnson  
Casjen Rico  
Preston Steblein     
Kasi Conners   
Jenna Fahrney 
Kayla Hines  
Bethany Johnstone     
Melissa Vickers Volleyball     
Bailey Wilson   Volleyball         

Information provided by McMurry athletics department.